Being Encouraged

Encouragement is something we all need. These days, I need it more than ever. These past few months have been hard for many factors and each day I need encouragement. It varies in many forms – from reading a good verse or quote, listening to a song, having a conversation with a friend to just spending some time alone. This week I needed all of them. I didn’t get all of them, and the ones I did may not have sticked but I’m still pressing on in spite of how discouraged I feel. Discouraged is a strong word, but I certainly need the opposite.

Below are some of the things I take hope in. I’ll often read them over and over to myself even if sometimes it doesn’t change anything at the time.

There is surely a future for you. Do not let your hope be cut off. (Proverbs 23:18)

“How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.” – Anne Frank.

Below is an excerpt from Daily Confessions. These are promises taken from the Psalms.

I am like a tree that produces abundant fruit! I will succeed in whatever I do. (Psalm 1)

I am a child of the King of heaven and earth! No enemy can stand against me. (Psalm 2)

I am shielded, protected, sustained by the LORD! The blessings of my God are upon me. (Psalm 3)

I am set apart for the LORD Himself! I will sleep in peace and dwell in safety. (Psalm 4)

I am looking upward! The LORD surrounds me with His favor and makes His way straight before me. (Psalm 5)

-Gary H. Beesley

 

Leave a Reply

