Take a Look in a Book!

Books are lovely. I’ve expressed my love for them many times (basically check out any of my posts). But they’re expensive, and hardcovers are so nice too. Ugh.

Solution Time!

Option 1: Have a little library time! i.e. go to a library. they’re cool. Yes, I put those two words together.

Option 2: There’s also a whack-load of free ebooks on Kobo. Seriously! I’ve read Pride and Prejudice, Stuff White People Like, and even a few chapters of one of the Star Wars novel. Check out some apps, there’s lots of free books out there.

Option 3: Have some friends over (have some cheesecake, some Fiji water, some fun) and ask everyone bring their most fabulous book. Everyone give a little synopsis, and then switch with someone. Ooooor to have some real fun do it like a gift exchange. Put all the books in the middle, have everyone draw numbers. The person with 1 starts by picking up a book from the middle, and so on. If someone wants a book someone has, they can steal it. Once a book is stolen three times it’s frozen. Once every number has gone you’ve got your book! How simple is that! And everyone has a new book to read. Give it a month (or two – if you’re like me, you’ll need two months) and get together again to switch books all over again!

Option 4: (for y’all lazy people) just trade books with friends or steal one from a family member, which is what I usually do.

Here’s some gems, that your friends might have too!

  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling. Odds are one of your friends has this book. It’s hilarious. She’s amazing. You’re going to fall in love with Mindy (that is – if you haven’t already). Mindy
  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close: A Novel by Jonathan Safran Foer. This one is crazy interesting and will suck you in. Yes, there’s a movie, but don’t watch it until you’ve read the book. This book will warp all your time, but trust me – you won’t regret it.  extremely
  • I’ll Drink To That: A Life in Style, With a Twist by Betty Halbriech. This lady is so interesting. Honestly, I haven’t finished it all yet, but so far it’s golden. betty
  • Daily Confessions: Positive Declarations of Faith from the Psalms by Gary H. Beesley. This book has gotten me through a lot. It basically has true promises that can be declared over my life. Each Psalm correlates with about three/four promises taken from the Psalms. I don’t have a link to buy this one – I bought directly from him, but here’s another similar one with promises from scripture: The Secret Power of Speaking God’s Word by Joyce Meyer. joyce
    • Also check out Sam’s post on the importance of speaking positive!! I couldn’t agree more!
  • The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories by Marina Keegan. Marina was a Yale graduate. She died in car accident on her way back home after graduation. This is a collection of her writings that has been put together by her parents and professors. It’s a beautiful and moving tribute to Marina. I love Marina’s writing. I keep going back to this book over and over. I’ve read her essay The Opposite of Loneliness dozens of times now. Her writing is so fresh.Opp of Loneliness

Those are just a few of my current favourites; there’s so many great options!

Get book-swapping!

Leave a Reply

