3 Things: Thanksgiving Edition (WOO!)

_DSC0086

It’s Thanksgiving!! It’s officially Fall, there’s food – really good food, family, friends, and decorations. I looove making everything look festive! So here’s 3 Things for this Thanksgiving:

1.Thanksgiving Centrepiece

My mom and I basically live at Bowrings when it comes to decorating for holidays. Since Thanksgiving is a shorter holiday, and it’s decor isn’t out long, it’s a perfect opportunity to create a centrepiece that isΒ gorgΒ and is affordable!

Here’s my take for this Thanksgiving weekend:

_DSC0083

_DSC0084

To keep your centrepiece affordable, the best thing is to use things you already have! I used a vase and silk flowers that I usually keep in my room and put in some gold decorations and pine cones that we also had (you can also just grab some pine cones from your yard).

_DSC0082

I purchased a cream foam pumpkin from Target ($5!!) and used some gold polka dot washi tape and sharpies to dress it up. (I should’ve practiced my calligraphy beforehand, whoops!) Next time, I’m going to use metallic sharpies to write on it.

_DSC0085

The rest are things we already had, some gold rocks from a Christmas centrepiece, two cream pillar candles from two holders in our living room, and a gold pear we have in another centrepiece. The evergreen branches and pinecones beside the vase are from another centrepiece that we put out in Winter. And then tealights – we never seem to run out of them.

_DSC0080

2.’Thank You’ Cards

Every Thanksgiving before our big dinner, my family and I say something that we are thankful for, thank God, and then we pray a blessing over each other. And lately, I’ve really been into stationary (like crazy) and I thought it would be nice to write a ‘thank you’ card to each of them. I think people underestimate the significance of a card; they mean so much. So this year I’m writing everyone a ‘thank you’ card and will put it at their place setting. Try it out, it’s an amazing feeling to write out everything you love about a person and show how much they bless you.

_DSC0089

(‘Thank you’ cards from Target ($5 for 10 cards and envelopes) Beauty!)

3. Try Pumpkin in a New Way

Sometimes having pumpkin pie all weekend can make it bland. Check around on Pinterest and other blogs and see what new recipes you can find (and a Pumpkin Spice Latte doesn’t count).

Here’s what I’ll be trying out:

-Rich brownies (my absolute favourite) and pumpkin ice cream and whip cream! Mmm. It’s simple, but amazingly tasty.

-Pumpkin Pie Milkshakes (Check out A Cozy Kitchen for a fabulous version)

-Pumpkin Fudge!

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving! πŸ™‚ (And thanks for reading my blog πŸ˜‰ )

2 thoughts on “3 Things: Thanksgiving Edition (WOO!)

Leave a Reply

